United Arab EmiratesMiddle East & Gulf · AE · AED

United Arab Emirates

الإمارات

68 licensed entities supervised by the Central Bank of the UAE (Insurance) / DFSA / ADGM FSRA.

Listed insurers
68
Insurance classes
8
Groups present
14
Illustrated collage of United Arab Emirates, inspired by Al Ain Oasis, Jebel Ali, Hajar Mountains.
United Arab Emirates
INSURERS.GLOBAL / AEAn illustrated portrait · AI-created artwork

Reinsurance tax on foreign reinsurers

Latest available research by tax type. Treaty relief and transaction conditions can change the result.

Compare jurisdictions, sources and history →

A sense of place

Beyond the numbers.

Heritage, places of work and the landscapes that connect them. Three selected references behind this artistic portrait.

Local names, languages & illustration notes

Selected local names and languages, with links to the references behind this artistic composition.

United Arab EmiratesUnited Arab Emirates

Arabic
الإمارات

Name reference: mledoze/countries · ODbL data · ODbL licence. Flag artwork: flag-icons · MIT.

By class of business

Each company is counted once, under the class its register row records. The supervisor’s own tally counts licences, so a company licensed for more than one class appears more than once there.

By ownership

  • Foreign multinational33 49%
  • Domestic private31 46%
  • State-owned / parastatal3 4%
  • Regional / multilateral1 1%

Verification log

Partially verified - CBUAE onshore register of July 2025 (2026 editions no longer online); DIFC/ADGM rows not reconciled · CBUAE "CB Register July of 2025 - Insurance companies and related professions", section "Insurance companies" (national, foreign and takaful), PDF created 4 Aug 2025, retrieved 23 Sep 2026: 58 insurance companies

Reconciled against the CBUAE register of licensed insurance companies of July 2025 (58 national, foreign and takaful insurers; the 2026 editions have been taken off the CBUAE server): 28 rows matched, 30 licensees added, Al Khazna removed, two placeholders and one holding company removed, and two takaful rows recorded as renamed (Arabian Scandinavian to Sukoon Takaful, Orient UNB Takaful to Orient Takaful). The nine DIFC and possible free-zone rows (DFSA/FSRA) and Etihad Credit Insurance are not covered by the CBUAE register and were left unchanged.

Licensed insurers in United Arab Emirates

Scroll horizontally to compare columns.

CompanyClassParent / groupOwnershipRegulatorVerificationPopularity
Abu Dhabi National Insurance Co (ADNIC)State-owned
Registered as Abu Dhabi National Insurance Company
CCompositeMamoura (ADQ)State-owned / parastatalCBUAEPartial—
Alliance InsuranceCCompositeAllianceDomestic privateCBUAEPartial—
AXA Gulf -> GIG GulfBoursa Kuwait: GIG
AXA sold 2021; Registered as Gulf Insurance Group (Gulf) B.S.C Closed
CCompositeGulf Insurance Group / FairfaxIAIGForeign multinationalCBUAEPartial—
Dubai Insurance
Registered as Dubai Insurance Company (PSC)
CCompositeDubai InsuranceDomestic privateCBUAEPartial—
National General Insurance (NGI)
Registered as National General Insurance CO
CCompositeEmirates NBD groupDomestic privateCBUAEPartial—
Orient Insurance
Largest UAE insurer
CCompositeAl-FuttaimDomestic privateCBUAEPartial—
Sukoon Insurance (ex-Oman Insurance)
Registered as Sukoon Insurance PJSC
CCompositeMashreqDomestic privateCBUAEPartial—
Union InsuranceCCompositeUnionDomestic privateCBUAEPartial—
AIG MEA (DIFC)NYSE: AIGGGeneral (Non-life)AIGIAIGForeign multinationalCBUAEPartial—
Al Ain Ahlia InsuranceGGeneral (Non-life)Al Ain AhliaDomestic privateCBUAEPartial—
Al Buhaira National
Registered as Al Buharia National Insurance Co
GGeneral (Non-life)Al BuhairaDomestic privateCBUAEPartial—
Al Dhafra InsuranceGGeneral (Non-life)Al DhafraDomestic privateCBUAEPartial—
Al Sagr NationalDFM: ASNIC
Registered as Al Sagr National Insurance Co. (PSC)
GGeneral (Non-life)Al SagrDomestic privateCBUAEPartial—
Al Wathba National InsuranceGGeneral (Non-life)Al WathbaDomestic privateCBUAEPartial—
Emirates Insurance
Registered as Emirates Insurance Company (PSC)
GGeneral (Non-life)Emirates InsuranceDomestic privateCBUAEPartial—
Fidelity United Insurance
Registered as United Fidelity Insurance Company
GGeneral (Non-life)Fidelity UnitedDomestic privateCBUAEPartial—
Insurance HouseGGeneral (Non-life)FAB-linkedDomestic privateCBUAEPartial—
Liva Insurance (ex-RSA Middle East / NLGIC)
Registered as LIVA Insurance B.S.C. (c)
GGeneral (Non-life)Liva Group (Oman)Foreign multinationalCBUAEPartial—
Lloyd's DubaiGGeneral (Non-life)Lloyd'sRegional / multilateralCBUAEPartial97 Confidence: Low
Ras Al Khaimah National (RAK Insurance)
Registered as Ras Al Khaimah National Insurance Company P.S.C
GGeneral (Non-life)RAKDomestic privateCBUAEPartial—
Sharjah Insurance
Registered as Sharjah Insurance Company (P.S.C)
GGeneral (Non-life)SharjahDomestic privateCBUAEPartial—
Bupa Global (DIFC)HHealth / MedicalBupaIAIGForeign multinationalCBUAEPartial97 Confidence: Low
Cigna Middle EastNYSE: CI
Registered as Cigna Insurance Middle East S.A.L
HHealth / MedicalCignaForeign multinationalCBUAEPartial—
Daman (National Health Insurance Co)State-owned
Largest health; Registered as The National Company (Daman) PJSC
HHealth / MedicalADQ / PureHealthState-owned / parastatalCBUAEPartial—
Allianz Middle EastFWB: ALV
Verify
LLifeAllianzIAIGForeign multinationalCBUAEPartial97 Confidence: Low
MetLife Gulf (UAE)NYSE: MET
Registered as American Life Insurance Company
LLifeMetLifeIAIGForeign multinationalCBUAEPartial48 Confidence: Low
Zurich International Life (UAE)SIX: ZURN
Registered as Zurich International Life Limited
LLifeZurichIAIGForeign multinationalCBUAEPartial99 Confidence: Medium
Emirates RetakafulRReinsurerEmirates RetakafulDomestic privateCBUAEPartial—
Hannover Re Bahrain/DIFCFWB: TLXRReinsurerTalanxIAIGForeign multinationalCBUAEPartial—
Munich Re DIFCFWB: MUV2RReinsurerMunich ReIAIGForeign multinationalCBUAEPartial65 Confidence: Low
SCOR DIFCEuronext Paris: SCRRReinsurerSCORIAIGForeign multinationalCBUAEPartial—
Swiss Re DIFCSIX: SRENRReinsurerSwiss ReIAIGForeign multinationalCBUAEPartial66 Confidence: Low
Abu Dhabi National Takaful
Registered as Abu Dhabi National Takaful Company - P S C - Takaful.
TTakaful / IslamicADNTDomestic privateCBUAEPartial—
Dubai Islamic Insurance & Reinsurance (Aman)
Registered as Dubai Islamic Insurance & Reinsurance Co. (Aman) P.S.C
TTakaful / IslamicAmanDomestic privateCBUAEPartial—
Methaq TakafulTTakaful / IslamicMethaqDomestic privateCBUAEPartial—
Noor Takaful -> Dar Al Takaful (Watania)ADX: WATANIA
Registered as Watania Takaful General PJSC
TTakaful / IslamicWataniaDomestic privateCBUAEPartial—
Salama (Islamic Arab Insurance)Tadawul: 8050
Registered as ISLAMIC ARAB INSURANCE COMPANY 'SALAMA'
TTakaful / IslamicSalamaDomestic privateCBUAEPartial—
Etihad Credit InsuranceState-owned
Export credit; Etihad Credit Insurance, the federal export credit company founded in 2018 and owned by the federal and emirate governments (its own site, via web search), is not on the CBUAE register of July 2025. The register's Export Credit Insurance Company of the Emirates (reg. 087) was first registered on 1 Jun 2009, before ECI existed, so it is treated as a separate company and added; a reviewer should confirm that the two are not the same legal entity.
XSpecialty / Credit / CaptiveUAE GovernmentState-owned / parastatalCBUAEPartial—
Chubb Tempest Life Reinsurance Ltd
Foreign branch (Sharjah); head office United Kingdom per the CBUAE Feb 2022 entity list; class from the name (life reinsurance); ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched
RReinsurerParent not named in registerForeign multinationalCBUAEPartial—
Adamjee Insurance Company Limited
Foreign branch (Dubai); head office Pakistan per the CBUAE Feb 2022 entity list; register gives no class; ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerForeign multinationalCBUAEPartial—
Yas Takaful
Takaful licensee; reg. no. 084 was Al Hilal Takafu[l] P.S.C on the CBUAE Feb 2022 entity list; ownership not researched
TTakaful / IslamicParent not named in registerDomestic privateCBUAEPartial—
Al Ittihad Al Watani - General Insurance Company for the Near East
Foreign branch (Dubai); head office Lebanon per the CBUAE Feb 2022 entity list; register gives no class; ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerForeign multinationalCBUAEPartial—
Sukoon Takaful PJSC
Takaful licensee, reg. no. 006, listed as Arabian Scandinavian Insurance on the Feb 2022 and July 2024 CBUAE registers and as Sukoon Takaful PJSC from January 2025; ownership not researched
TTakaful / IslamicParent not named in registerDomestic privateCBUAEPartial—
Qatar General Insurance & Reinsurance Co. S.A.Q.
Foreign branch (Dubai); head office Qatar per the CBUAE Feb 2022 entity list; register gives no class; ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerForeign multinationalCBUAEPartial—
National Life and General Insurance Company SAOG
Foreign branch (Dubai); head office Oman per the CBUAE Feb 2022 entity list; class C from the name (life and general); ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched
CCompositeParent not named in registerForeign multinationalCBUAEPartial—
American Home Insurance Company (Dubai Branch)
Foreign branch (Dubai); head office United States per the CBUAE Feb 2022 entity list; register gives no class; ownership not researched; Registered as American Home Insurance Company (Dubai Br.); Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerForeign multinationalCBUAEPartial—
Takaful Emarat - Insurance PSC
Takaful licensee; ownership not researched
TTakaful / IslamicParent not named in registerDomestic privateCBUAEPartial—
General Insurance Corporation of India
Foreign branch (Dubai); head office India per the CBUAE Feb 2022 entity list; register gives no class; ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerForeign multinationalCBUAEPartial—
Dubai National Insurance & Reinsurance P.S.C.
National licensee; register gives no class; ownership not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerDomestic privateCBUAEPartial—
The Oriental Insurance Company Limited
Foreign branch (Dubai); head office India per the CBUAE Feb 2022 entity list; register gives no class; ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerForeign multinationalCBUAEPartial—
The New India Assurance Company Limited
Foreign branch (Dubai); head office India per the CBUAE Feb 2022 entity list; register gives no class; ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerForeign multinationalCBUAEPartial—
Zurich Life Insurance Company Limited
Foreign branch (Dubai); head office Switzerland per the CBUAE Feb 2022 entity list; class from the name; a separate licensee from Zurich International Life Limited (reg. 063, row 1535); ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched
LLifeParent not named in registerForeign multinationalCBUAEPartial—
State Life Insurance Corporation of Pakistan
Foreign branch (Dubai); head office Pakistan per the CBUAE Feb 2022 entity list; class from the name; ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched
LLifeParent not named in registerForeign multinationalCBUAEPartial—
Export Credit Insurance Company of the Emirates
National licensee (Dubai), first registered 1 Jun 2009 per the CBUAE Feb 2022 entity list; class X from the name (export credit); not matched to row 1549 Etihad Credit Insurance, which was founded in 2018; ownership not researched
XSpecialty / Credit / CaptiveParent not named in registerDomestic privateCBUAEPartial—
Jordan Insurance Co. Ltd
Foreign branch (Abu Dhabi); head office Jordan per the CBUAE Feb 2022 entity list; register gives no class; ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerForeign multinationalCBUAEPartial—
Saudi Arabian Insurance Company B.S.C. (c)
GCC company branch (Dubai); head office Bahrain per the CBUAE Feb 2022 entity list; register gives no class; ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerForeign multinationalCBUAEPartial—
Arabia Insurance Company S.A.L.
Foreign branch (Abu Dhabi); head office Lebanon per the CBUAE Feb 2022 entity list; register gives no class; ownership not researched; Registered as Arabia Insurance Company sal; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerForeign multinationalCBUAEPartial—
Life Insurance Corporation (International) B.S.C. (c)
Foreign licensee (Dubai), recorded as a GCC company branch in the CBUAE Feb 2022 entity list; class from the name; the name suggests Life Insurance Corporation of India, not confirmed from the register; ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched
LLifeParent not named in registerForeign multinationalCBUAEPartial—
Al Fujairah National Insurance Company PSC
National licensee; register gives no class; ownership not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerDomestic privateCBUAEPartial—
The Mediterranean & Gulf Insurance & Reinsurance Company B.S.C. (c) - Medgulf
Foreign branch (Dubai); head office Bahrain per the CBUAE Feb 2022 entity list; register gives no class; ownership not researched; Registered as The Mediterranean & Gulf Insurance & Reinsurance Company BSC (c) - Medgulf; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerForeign multinationalCBUAEPartial—
Orient Takaful PJSC
Takaful licensee, reg. no. 092, listed as Orient UNB Takaful (PJSC) on the CBUAE Feb 2022 entity list and as Orient Takaful (PJSC) from July 2024; ownership not researched
TTakaful / IslamicParent not named in registerDomestic privateCBUAEPartial—
Hayah Insurance Company
National licensee; register gives no class; ownership not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerDomestic privateCBUAEPartial—
Iran Insurance Company
Foreign branch (Dubai); head office Iran per the CBUAE Feb 2022 entity list; register gives no class; ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerForeign multinationalCBUAEPartial—
Qatar Insurance Co.
Foreign branch (Dubai); head office Qatar per the CBUAE Feb 2022 entity list; register gives no class; ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerForeign multinationalCBUAEPartial—
Watania Takaful Family
Takaful licensee, reg. no. 078, listed as Noor Takaful Family PJSC on the CBUAE Feb 2022 entity list and as Watania Takaful Family from July 2024; ownership not researched
TTakaful / IslamicParent not named in registerDomestic privateCBUAEPartial—
Tokio Marine & Nichido Fire Insurance Co. Ltd
Foreign branch (Dubai); head office Japan per the CBUAE Feb 2022 entity list; class G from the name (fire insurance); ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched
GGeneral (Non-life)Parent not named in registerForeign multinationalCBUAEPartial—
Friends Provident International Limited
Foreign branch (Dubai); head office United Kingdom per the CBUAE Feb 2022 entity list; register gives no class; ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerForeign multinationalCBUAEPartial—
Mitsui Sumitomo Insurance Co. Ltd
Foreign branch (Dubai); head office Japan per the CBUAE Feb 2022 entity list; register gives no class; ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerForeign multinationalCBUAEPartial—

Popularity is an estimate of how often people search Google for each insurer, from 0 to 100; the bars show how confident the estimate is. Not a rating of the insurer. How the index works

Former and deregistered companies

Names once listed in United Arab Emirates and no longer in use. A company that was renamed, merged or acquired is counted under the name it has today; the names below are counted in no total on this page.

Former nameWhat happenedListed today as
Al Khazna InsuranceNo longer on the registerNot recorded
Arab Orient Insurance (Jordan?) - see JordanNo longer on the registerNot recorded
Arabian Scandinavian Insurance (Takaful)RenamedSukoon Takaful PJSC
Chubb Arabia? (Saudi) - UAE branchNo longer on the registerNot recorded
Orient UNB TakafulRenamedOrient Takaful PJSC
Watania International Holding (Dar Al Takaful + Watania)No longer on the registerNot recorded

Middle East & Gulf

Another place. A new perspective.

Explore the region